“The history of liberty is a history of resistance” – Woodrow Wilson

I will never forget today. 16th February 2016. The day we suspected was coming for a long time, the main reason that we left our home, İdil is going under curfew. I will never forget the moment in which I was told that at 11pm tonight, the town I once called home would be going under an indefinite curfew.

Then I started seeing the pictures and videos of seemingly endless amounts of tanks being driven into the town. Anyone would think that they were going to war with another country, a huge army, rather than civilians and ill equipped teenagers.

In my mind’s eye I can see our apartment block standing there, towering over the surrounding houses. I can picture us all sat in that garden, laughing and joking whilst the children run freely around us. Now I imagine it to be quiet, deserted, nothing more lively than your average ghost town.

Most of my husband’s immediate family has already managed to leave İdil, but a few members of our close family, large amounts of relatives and family friends remain. There’s no telling what will happen in İdil in the upcoming months. I just pray that İdil will not be destroyed in the same manner that Cizre has. After a long curfew in Cizre, which cost 100s of civilians their lives, the town is nothing but a scene of devastation and destruction. I hope that our house will not become a bullet punctured shell, completely devoid of the happy memories it once was home to.

I know that some may find some of the topics that I talk about controversial, some people may not agree with some of the things I say, the Turkish-Kurdish conflict is one that stirs strong emotions and opinions in most people. I know that what I write is the truth, I have no doubt that there are many who will agree with me and many who will not.

If you want to keep up with me and what is happening in İdil more regularly, please pop over and like my Facebook page.

 

https://www.facebook.com/memyselfandidil/

 

One thought on ““The history of liberty is a history of resistance” – Woodrow Wilson

Leave a comment